President's Message


“Students,” one of CCRA’s top buzzwords this year. I don’t know if I’ve said it too many times yet, so I’ll say it a couple of more times, students are the life’s blood of the court reporting profession. Without students filling the court reporting schools and moving through and taking the State’s CSR exam, the reporting profession will eventually wilt and die just like a plant that has not been watered.


CCRA 104th Convention

If you can invest in only one convention this year… Make your investment count with CCRA!

Inspired by the overwhelmingly positive feedback from previous convention attendees, CCRA is heading back to the Miramonte Resort & Spa in Indian Wells, California, October 3-5, 2014. Why is this the best investment for your hard-earned dollars?


CCRA Legislative Reception

On Monday, March 24, 2014, CCRA held a legislative reception at Mayahuel restaurant in Sacramento. In attendance were state legislators, legislative staffers, past and present CCRA board members, court reporters from the Sacramento courts, the NCCRA, several students, and a judge.



To help students prepare for the upcoming CSR exam, CCRA will be offering Mock CSRs and WKTs (Written Knowledge Tests) throughout the state on Saturday, June 21, 2014. Come join us in this practice test for your success.


CCRA's New Online Continuing Education

CCRA is proud to offer four Webinars in its new Online Continuing Education Section.  Industry icon, Margie Wakeman, Wells produced two Webinars that are exclusive to CCRA: Could There Be More Dashes in this Transcript? and Why Can't They Speak in Complete Sentences? are currently available on the CCRA Website.  A third exclusive Webinar from Margie will be offered in the near future.  In addition, two CCRA-produced Webinars are available: A Reporter's Guide to Civil Court! and Embrace Change: Educate, Implement, Perform.  These Webinars are on demand and have been pre-qualified for CEUs by the National Court Reporters Association (NCRA).  CCRA members pay only $40 per Webinar (nonmembers pay slightly more) and there is also a money-saving package price for all three of Margie's Webinars.  Please click here for more details about these wonderful online tools.


CCRA’s Official Reporter Resource Listing

Are you looking to get your name out there for lawyers and court reporting firms to report civil trials? As a firm owner, are you looking to hire a court reporter in your area to cover civil trials? CCRA has compiled the resource for you. This Official Reporter Resource Listing will be distributed to courts and bar associations. CCRA will actively promote this resource listing to bar associations and courts throughout the state.

It’s not too late to sign up and add your name to the Official Reporter Resource listing.

CCRA is an association that promotes the connectedness of reporters. We pride ourselves on having a vision that joins the interests of ALL court reporters.